Senate validates 7as CCB Chairman, board members, drops one from Edo


… As Presidency withdraws 2.

By Henry Umoru.

ABUJA- THE Senate, Wednesday verified the visit of Dr. Muhammed Isah from Jigawa State representing the North West zone as chairman of the Standard procedure Bureau, CCB.


Likewise verified were 6 others as members of the Bureau.

On the other hand, the Senate nevertheless did not validate Danjuma Sado from Edo State “since he is listed below the authorized age of 50 years as defined in Area 1( b) of the CCB Act.

Other candidates sent out to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari for visit into the board that were evaluated and verified were Murtala Aliyu Kankia from Katsina (North West), Emmanuel Enu Attah from Cross River (South South), Ubolo Okpanachi from Kogi (North Central), Ken Madaki Alkali from Nasarawa (North Central), Prof. S.F. Ogundare from Oyo (South West) and Saad Abubakar from Gombe (North East), respectively.

Verification of their visits the other day, followed the factor to consider of the report of the Senator Samuel Anyanwu, PDP, Imo West led Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions on the screening of candidates for visit as chairman and members of the CCB.

Providing the report, Senator Anyanwu stated election of Sado was not suggested for approval by the committee “when it found that he was 39 years, listed below the age of 50 as defined in the CCB Act Area 1( b)”.

National Assembly’s tranquil resumption.

According to him, area states “that the Bureau will include a chairman and 9 other members who will be at the time of visit, not less than fifty years.

” From their academic background, experience and direct exposure as discovered throughout the screening, just 7 (7) candidates appropriate, certified and qualified to hold such high workplace as the Standard procedure Bureau on behalf of federal government and the country Nigeria”.

Breaking: Senate in rowdy session over sitting plan as Saraki stops Akpabio.

Senator Anyanwu then recommended the Executive to select 3 other candidates for factor to consider as members of the board of Bureau to finish the variety of members statutorily needed.

It was collected that the election of both Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat from Ogun State (South West) and Dr. Vincent Nwanli from Ebonyi (South East) may have been withdrawn by the Presidency as they were notably missing on the list of candidates evaluated by the committee.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here